The License Renewals online application allows both individuals and establishments licensed with the Board of Mortuary Arts the ability to renew their license. The Kansas State Board of Mortuary Arts is committed to providing the public valuable information. Upon completion of the online renewal process, you will receive a confirmation screen.
- You must be an active practitioner
- Kansas State Board of Mortuary Arts (KSBMA) license number
- Social Security Number
The accepted payment methods are: Electronic Check or Credit Card (Visa, Mastercard, American Express or Discover).
, the first letter of your last name determines when your license expires. For establishments
, the first letter of your business determines the expiration date. Please refer to the listing of renewal dates
. Licenses renewed after their expiration date will be required to pay a late fee.
Renewals not postmarked by their due dates are subject to late penalties and reinstatement fees. We mail them to you at least 45 days prior to the due date, and we also send a reminder notice to you two weeks prior to the due date. Please get them back to us on time. We don't like to charge late fees, and certainly you don't like to pay them. Late Embalmer and Funeral Director renewals involve double fees, while a late Assistant Funeral Director renewal requires a new application fee of $150 in addition to an appropriate pro-rated renewal. (If you have not successfully taken the Assistant Funeral Director Exam, you will also need to apply for the exam submit the associated fee and take the exam.)
It is your responsibility to notify the board if your address changes. Failure to do so could result in mailings not reaching you and could possibly lead to your renewal going unpaid and eventually dropped. Renewals not paid within six (6) months of their due date are automatically dropped. Reinstatement requires that you meet all current requirements, pay a reinstatement fee in addition to all unpaid back fees and submit all back continuing education hours within one year of returning to active status.
There are some cases where individuals are not eligible to use the online license renewal process at this time. Do not proceed if:
- Inactive Practitioner status licensees may not renew online.
- Your Kansas license is expired and you need to reinstate the license.
- Your license has been denied, refused for renewal, suspended, revoked or subjected to disciplinary action or you have had other legal issues.
If none of the preceding applies, you may begin the License Renewal process.
Select an option below to begin your online renewal. Please note that these links will take you to a the kansas.gov website.