1) provide the Board with: a completed application form and appropriate fee-($350.00 reciprocal fee and a $200.00 examination fee - if you are applying for a funeral director license, also), a statement of good standing from home state board or agency by the 15th of the month prior to a scheduled board meeting (the statement of good standing from your current state board of licensure must be mailed directly to Kansas); your final college transcript showing an AA degree in a Mortuary Science Program sent directly to us from the school and have your national or state embalming examination results sent directly to us. Rule books are available for $5.00 - although you can print them off from our website at no cost.
2) be currently licensed in a state with educational requirements as high as those in Kansas or individually meet current Kansas requirements.
3) appear before the board for an interview (to explain why Kansas licensure is desired.)
4) demonstrate the intent to practice embalming part-time or full-time in Kansas.
5) pass any oral or written examination as administer by the board.
6) agree to certify in writing or orally that the applicant has read, understands and will abide by the state rules, regulations and statutes.
7) pay the appropriate reciprocal and embalmer initial licensure fees once licensure has been granted by the board.
Initial licenses are prorated at $7.00 per month – based on an established renewal schedule pertaining to the first letter of your surname (last name). The full biennial renewal cost is $168.00.
NOTES ON RECIPROCAL APPLICATIONS: The reciprocal application fee is $350 (This fee remains the same regardless if applying for either one or both licenses) as long as applying for both licenses at the same time (in other words, should you apply for one reciprocal license and later apply for the other, it will be another application with the $350 associated fee). When applying for a reciprocal funeral director license, you also need to send an additional $200 examination fee. All fees, transcripts and applications are due by the 15th of the month prior to a scheduled board meeting. The board meets four times annually: January, April, July and October. Rule books are available for $5.00 through our office or can be printed at no cost from our website.