THE KANSAS FUNERAL DIRECTOR EXAMINATION
Examination Fee: $200.00

The funeral director examination administered by the Kansas State Board of Mortuary Arts
consists of 100 questions valued at one (1) point each. A score of 75 or higher is considered
passing. Subjects covered on the test and the number of questions on each is as follows:
Accounting (5), Mortuary Administration (15), Psychology (10), Sociology of Funeral Service (10),
Mortuary and Business Law (15), Federal Law (10) and Kansas Law (35)-Prearranged funeral
agreements compose 15 of the 35 questions on the Kansas Law. All questions are multiple
choice (possibilities of A-D).

You will be given a maximum of one (1) hour to complete the examination. Should you fail the
examination, you may retake the examination at the next scheduled date for no additional cost.
Failure to pass or appear at that time requires an additional application and fee.

An example of a question is as follows:
All licenses renew their licenses

a) quarterly. b) annually. c) biennially. d) every five years.
You may also see an extremely small number of questions, such as:
The FIRST step to the Americans with Disabilities Act compliance is the creation of a
l. priority list. Il. needs assessment.
[ll. compliance statement. V. written compliance plan.

(@) land Il (b) land Ill  (c) llonly (d) land IV

Possible study materials available for the examination include:

1) The current Kansas rule book—the rule book is available for purchase from the Board
for $5.00. You may download a free copy of the rule book from the Board website at:
http://www.kansas.gov/ksbma/pdf/10-10-2013Rulebook.pdf

2) Complying with the Funeral Rule- see this link for information on the FTC Funeral Rule:
http://business.ftc.gov/documents/bus05-complying-funeral-rule.

3) The Funeral Service Compend --purchasing the compend is not required, but is included
as a study option based on recommendations by previous examines. Some may own the book
from Mortuary College. The order form for the compend can be found on the KSBMA website at:
http://www.kansas.gov/ksbma/pdf/DallasInstituteOrderForm.pdf. The Dallas Institute of Funeral
Service is not the only vendor who sales the Funeral Service Compend. We have also included a
paper order form. Please note that some compend books include mortuary administration and
federal law questions in the section titled: "Mortuary Administration". It is not necessary to
study the science portion of this book.

As you can see, the funeral director examination is not simply a test over Kansas laws.
Because of the required education qualifications and responsibilities that go along with the
funeral director license, the examination covers a broad range of material the board believes is
necessary in order for licensed funeral directors to meet the needs of Kansas consumers.

The examination takes approximately one (1) hour to be administered. You will be notified
of your score within two (2) weeks of the examination. Most generally results will be mailed to
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you the day after the examination has been administered. Exam results will not be given over
the phone or through e-mail- No Exceptions.

Please contact the Mortuary Arts Board at (785) 296-3980 by the filing deadline if you
have a disability and need an accommodation to be administered this written examination.

The examination is administered quarterly, during the months of January, April, July and

October. The filing deadline for each examination is the 15" of the month PRIOR to the
examination. EXAMPLE: The filing deadline for the January examination is December 15.
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